Busy Bee

I’ve got a few Bees I’m in this year for the first time and a little bit scared!!

Each one I’m in is slightly different:

1: See. Bee. Create: This is different every month, receive fabric from that Months Queen Bee and make a block according to there requirements.

This month I had a mix of orange, grey and aquas in the post (love this colour pallete at the mo!) and had to make a Modern Wonky Block… I was a bit daunted.. but this was my effort…

Have to say I love it! Wish I had more fabric I’d have done another one for me! I wasn’t confident enough t do it free hand, so drew the design then paper pieced it which I love… so win win!

2: Modern Minx Beginner Bee: This is one block chosen by the monthly nominee. Materials from stash, and the block from Modern Blocks – 99 Quilt Blocks Compiled by Susanne Woods (Scrummy book).

This months block was for Connie.  Envy (page 56).  She requested constants with Kona Green Tea and Snow and then other fabrics inspired by Denyse Schmidt’s Hope Valley line.

This is the one that daunted me the most.  Choosing fabric to compliment others…

This is my attempt….  a mix of Pear Tree and some unknown Basic Grey from the stash,  I really hope she like it…

I’ve decided to make two every month one for the receivee and one for me that will become a rather eclectic sample quilt at the end of the year!

3:  Modern Round Robin.  I’ve paired up with Connie (who gets the block above) to make a quilt as a round robin.  We do a centre send to each other, do a border, send again, as many times as we like…  but at leas twice!

I came up with a design last week was all set to sew this week…  when I came across a book on Friday that caught my attention (One Block Wonders – Cubed by Maxine Rosenthal and Joy Pelzmann on sale in a local store.

So original idea bit the dust and I had a new plan.

Here’s the result:

 

The colour mix in the batik has meant a bit of mismatch in the colours, and think I need to use more solid ones if I do again, but I’m pretyy pleased with it – think it looks effective.  Now just to post to Connie!

One thought on “Busy Bee

Leave a Reply

